Sergei Prokofiev Classical Symphony

Classical Music Milestone: April 21

Prokofiev's "Classical Symphony" Premieres

This day, on April 21, 1918, in St. Petersburg (formerly Petrograd), Symphony No. 1 in D major (Op. 25), by Sergei Prokofiev was first performed, conducted by the composer himself. 

Prokofiev began work in 1916, finishing it on September 10.  It is written in loose imitation of the style of  Haydn and Mozart. This symphony is one of Prokofiev's most popular works. It is commonly known as Classical Symphony, a name given to it by Prokofiev himself.

The symphony is in four movements, and lasts only about ten to fifteen minutes:
  1. Allegro

  2. Larghetto

  3. Gavotta: Non troppo allegro

  4. Finale: Molto vivace

Lasting only about ten to fifteen minutes, it is scored for a classical period orchestra consisting of 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani and strings.

Prokofiev - Symphony no. 1 'Classical' (1)

YouTube Video Credit:

PROKOFIEV "CLASSICAL" SYMPHONY - COMPLETE ~ PRO ARTE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA LIVE, uploaded by maestrojimbo. Accessed April 21, 2016.


Kennedy, Michael, Ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Oxford University Press, 1994.

Steinberg, Michael. "The Symphony: a listeners guide". p. 429-433. Oxford University Press, 1995.

No comments:

Post a Comment